Yale Institute for Music Theatre have announced the dates for the 2013 Yale Institute for Music Theatre and put out the call for submissions from qualified applicants.

Now in its fifth year, the Yale Institute for Music Theatre is a program of the Yale School of Drama (James Bundy, Dean) that bridges the gap between training and the professional world for emerging composers, book writers, and lyricists. A laboratory for the development of music theatre works, the Institute offers a two-week summer residency in New Haven from June 3 to 16, 2013. Up to three works will be selected.

The Institute encourages rigorous exploration, experimentation, and collaboration in an intensive lab setting. The authors of the selected projects will be matched with professional directors and music directors, as well as a company of actors and singers that includes professionals from New York and current Yale students. The residency culminates in open rehearsal readings of each project, presented as part of the International Festival of Arts & Ideas.

Each member of the writing team will receive an honorarium of $1,000, as well as round-trip transportation and accommodation in New Haven.

Submissions must be received by January 8, 2013. The selections will be announced by March 15, 2013.

Book musicals and other imaginative non-traditional music theatre projects are welcome. Only composers, book writers, or lyricists who are current graduate students; or who have graduated from an accredited degree-granting institution (undergraduate or graduate) within the past five years; or who are current Yale students are eligible to apply. Past Institute participants are welcome to apply, provided they still meet the program’s eligibility requirements.

For more information, application, and guidelines, visit our website at http://drama.yale.edu/YIMT. Please encourage any eligible artists you know to apply, and feel free to pass this announcement along to others who could help spread the word of this unique opportunity.


Mark Brokaw
Artistic Director