Columbus State University
International Playwriting Competition
offering the

Larry Corse Prize for Playwriting The Larry Corse Prize for Playwriting was established in 2003 by Larry Corse, Professor Emeritus of Theatre and English at Clayton State University, to encourage the development and production of new works for the stage. The prize has been awarded four times and in each of these years the competition received more than 300 plays from around the world.  For a list of previous winners, go to Prize: $1,000 and a production by Columbus State University Department of Theatre in the 2009-2010 school year.. Eligibility: The competition is open to all.

The Play: 
 1.  A play submitted to the competition should be finished, original, in English and            must not have been previously published or performed (excluding workshop readings). 2.  The play should be full-length and should a running time between 60 and 120 minutes. 3.  The number of actors needed for the play should be between 5 and 10. Columbus State University Department of Theatre will have first production rights for the winning play. The playwright will retain all other rights, including copyright, publication, and performance rights. If for some reason, Columbus State University Department of Theatre is not able to produce the winning play within two years of the announcement of the winner, first production rights revert to the playwright. If, in the opinion of the jury, no play worthy of the prize is submitted, Columbus State University Department of Theatre reserves the right to withhold the prize.

Submitting a Play:  1. Because the play will be sent to the juries anonymously, the author’s name should not appear on any page of the play. 2. Plays should be submitted with a cover sheet containing the following information:a.  Author’s nameb.  Author’s addressc.  Title of playd.  Author’s phone number and e-mail addresse.  A signed statement that the play has not been previously produced or published. 3.  A synopsis of the play must also be included.  The synopsis should cover the plot succinctly and not be a teaser or advertising copy. 4.  Plays previously submitted to the competition may not be re-submitted unless major revision has taken place. 5.  Deadline for Submission: Plays must be received by the Columbus International Playwriting Competition on or before April 1, 2008. 6.  Address for Submissions:Columbus State UniversityInternational Playwriting Competition #324931 Monroe Drive NE, Suite A-102Atlanta, Georgia, USA 30308 The copies of the plays submitted will not be returned. Please do not send one and only originals.

The plays will initially be read by theater professionals. Semi-finalists will then be submitted to the Theatre Faculty of Columbus State University for final judging. The selection process should be complete by September, 2008. The winning playwright may be invited to Columbus State University for workshops and lectures for a few days prior to the opening night of the production.

For additional information, contact Steve Graver, Department of Theatre, Columbus State University at or by writing to the above mailing address.
Please do not send submissions directly to Columbus State University.