International conference on Translators and (Their) Authors
Tel-Aviv University 7-8 May 2013

This conference will discuss aspects of the complex relationship between translators and authors. As a follow-up to the conference on Translators as Protagonists held in Vienna University in 2011, and in view of ongoing research and new theories on the sociocultural role of translation and translators/interpreters, on the translator's habitus, on the death of the Author, new/old questions arise as to the sometimes ambivalent and ever complex relationship, real or imaginary, physical or symbolic, between translator and the author/s he/she translates.

Suggested topics include : 
-Translators as distinct from authors
-Translators as authors
-Translators as advocates
-Translators as critics
-Split personality: the author/translator functioning differently on each front
-Famous authors-translators
-Translators co-working with authors
-Censorship and the author/translator relationship
-Gender and sexuality in translator-author relationship (the erotics of translation)

Abstract proposals and deadlines: Scholars are invited to submit 200-300 word proposals (with 3 keywords) for papers in Word as an attachment with the format: authorname.doc. (Please include your contact information in the body of your e-mail, not in the file.) Abstract proposals should be sent by January 1st 2013 to: . The abstracts should be attached as a WORD document. Please indicate ABSTRACT in the subject line in your e-mail. Presentations will be 20 minutes in length, followed by discussion. There will be sessions Tuesday and Wednesday.

Date of notification regarding acceptance of abstracts: February 15th 2013. AvivThe language of the conference will be English

Keynote Speakers:
Suzanne Jill Levine (University of California in Santa Barbara)
Douglas J. Robinson  (Dean of Arts at Hong Kong Baptist University)

Fee: Early registration fee (before February 30, 2013): $ 170. Fee after February 30, 2013: $ 200

Local Organising Committee: Nitsa Ben-Ari, Michal Ben-Naftali, Tirza Biron, Shaul Levin, Omri Asscher ; Scientific Committee:  Brian Baer (Kent State University, Ohio), Nitsa Ben-Ari (Tel-Aviv University), Patricia Godbout (University of Sherbrooke, Canada), Klaus Kaindl (University of Vienna) 

For all correspondence about the conference please use the e-mail address: