10Feb
Roberta Levitow February 10, 2016 No Comments

Socially Engaged Performance: A Global Conversation

WATCH THE LIVESTREAM OF

OUR MARCH 13 CONFERENCE ON SOCIALLY ENGAGED THEATRE

http://howlround.com/livestreaming-socially-engaged-performance-a-global-conversation-la-mama-and-theatre-without-borders

La MaMa and Theatre Without Borders present a one-day international convening Socially Engaged Performance: A Global Conversation livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Sunday, March 13 at 7am PDT (Los Angeles) / 10am EDT (New York) / 14:00 GMT (London) / 15:00 CET (Berlin) / 16:00 EET (Ramallah / Johannesburg) / 19:30 IST (New Delhi) / 22:00 SGT (Singapore) / 23:00 KST (Seoul / Tokyo).

Global telepresence and New York City-based livestreaming by CultureHub.

In Twitter, tweet your comments and questions @_TWB_ and use hashtag #howlround. Additionally follow @HowlRoundTV for updates.

Through focused round tables, panels, small groups, social networking, and livestreamed dialogue with international artists, we will focus on key emerging topics including conflict resolution and the refugee crisis, hybrid forms of interdisciplinary work, and a new generation of theater makers.

About Theatre Without Borders
Theatre Without Borders (TWB) is a grass-roots network of international artists, theatres, and organizations that share a common interest in international exchange.

Today, TWB is an international grass-roots community comprised of a wide-spectrum of individual volunteers around the world who meet irregularly and communicate primarily through the Internet and our website. Ideas are generated and then implemented by the group. We start with a need and respond to that need.

We value “Conversation”, “Hospitality”, and “Information Sharing”. We welcome artists at all levels of practice: professionals, academics, amateurs, artists working in countries where there is no such thing as a professional theatre community, and students.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer-produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world’s performing arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com, or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917-686-3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it.

– See more at: http://howlround.com/livestreaming-socially-engaged-performance-a-global-conversation-la-mama-and-theatre-without-borders#sthash.0BCqXQaq.dpuf

 

Schedule:
9:30 Arrival
10:00 Welcome address/ Opening Ritual
10:30 First Panel- Socially Engaged Theatre With/For/Of Adult Populations
(2-3 Live Panelists, 2-3 International Live Streamed Panelists with Culture Hub*)
Focusing on (but not limited to) some of the following subjects: regional issues, conflict zones, prison and post-prison populations, women’s issues, LGBTQ issues, domestic violence, poverty, homelessness, mental illness, refugees, reproductive rights, climate change, artist safety, human rights
Expressed through (but not limited to) some of the following modalities/ theatre forms: Theatre of the Oppressed, Hybrid/ Multi-media, Scripted Plays, Improvisation, Devised works, Dance/Music Theatre, Cultural/Historical forms, Puppets, Masks, Human Rights Orgs.
11:30 Break out sessions facilitated by live panelists and TWB committee – where the conversations can become deeper and more specific
12:30 Report back session
1:00 LUNCH (Bring your own)
2:00 Check in/ Ritual
2:30 Second Panel- Socially Engaged Theatre With/For/Of /ByYouth
(2-3 Live Panelists, 2-3 International Live Streamed Panelists with CH*)
3:30 Break out sessions facilitated by live panelists and TWB committee – where the conversations can become deeper and more specific
4:30 Report back session
5:00 General Discussion: What’s next / Closure/ Final Ritual
6:00 Dinner Out (optional)
WHEN
Sunday, March 13, 2016 from 9:30 AM to 6:00 PM (EDT) – Add to Calendar
WHERE
La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club – 66 East 4th Street New York, NY 10003 – View Map